Spectacles – A Thriller Tale

I turned left, I turned right,

I turned towards everywhere with all my might.

For a single store in this very city,

Which alas I could never find, a pity.

I trudged on, not giving up hope each day,

I knew there will be another way.

I’ve always been fascinated with the universe. I look up, at the night sky, to see the vastness, every night. The mega vastness exudes immense possibilities. Possibilities of, well, just possibilities. I don’t quite know how to word it, but you see hope there. But at the same time, it seems very ambiguous, if you know what I mean? It’s like – the vastness is whispering into your ears, calling out to you invitingly, but you aren’t able to catch the words. Nevertheless, it’s teasing you, inviting you, alluring you to its dense depth.

Except that I couldn’t look up again tonight.

I couldn’t sense the ambiguity like I could do previously.

I couldn’t hear the whispers of the universe.

I yearned to feel the vibration of the universe again – the sound of ‘Om’.

Alas, not today again, at least. I hope.

I was getting used to my new vision – I missed my spectacles badly.

I needed them at any cost. Without them, I’m like a tiger without claws, a lion without paws.

And without the spectacles, I’m an effect without a cause.

*************************************************************************************

Two weeks ago…

I didn’t look up at any star, or the night sky at all for that matter – it was broad daylight. I was late today. I hate early mornings, especially when I’ve had to adjust to it in such an abrupt manner. And today was no different. I was still groggy and sleep-deprived.

I asked him to drive a bit faster. Not that that mattered because of the traffic pile-up ahead of us. He was a reticent person, not giving much reaction to my words, but he did absorb all that I was saying.

I was basically cursing him. Ruthlessly.

Sometimes he fought back. Sometimes he didn’t. What about today? He did both.

He fought back at me, but I nullified him rendering him to do so no more.

I drove. And I drove quicker than ever before.

I had my spectacles on now. I was an effect with a cause.

 

*************************************************************************************

Three weeks ago…

Spectacles are so hard to come by these days. Even if they do come by, they are never quite the right fit for me. And buying one in itself is so expensive that I can’t switch to another one so soon.

I moved past the vast array of buildings of downtown, oftentimes almost bumping into a passerby – my vision was not so great.

I needed a good pair. I so badly needed it. Moreover, there was not a single store wherein I could buy one in this city. Such an appalling state of affairs, yes?

I turned left, I turned right,

I turned towards everywhere with all my might.

For a single store in this very city,

Which alas I could never find, a pity.

I trudged on, not giving up hope each day,

For I knew there will be another way.

People bustled everywhere around me. It was such a busy city, a mega city that it was. I was getting late. I had to go to my office. But I didn’t have any means of transport today. I don’t own a car, or a bike or a motorcycle. And I was too lazy to go by public transport – hence I don’t even include that as an option for commute.

I was new here. I had only just arrived. I wanted to take a good gift back home. And the spectacles of this city are prized, hence my craze for them.

I had searched everywhere – not a store in sight. It was time to get violent, then. I had to force one out of someone. It must not be especially difficult. But who? It must be of the right power, right fit, and right colour.

I saw a man in a dark blue coat-suit entering his car.

And thus began my chase.

I moved swiftly, so very swiftly that I dodged multiple people on the pavement in a couple of steps alone. But it was not enough. He had sat inside his car, and the signal was showing green, now. The car was towards the right side of the pavement and to the leftmost portion of the one-way road. There were a couple of vehicles in front of it, and not a single one to its right side. The driver tried to veer right because the vehicles in front, both trucks, were dead slow. The car’s wheels angled right at maximum angle – anymore and the car would have taken a double u-turn.

Right and left. Right and left. Right and left.

The car now overtook the trucks ahead of it, and its wheels now rotated quicker, thus thrusting it forward.

The man was seated at the rear. His head cocked back, and from behind the car, caught a glance of me – moving as fast as his car. He looked back to his driver, which made the driver nod. Had the man known?

But how? I was ever so quiet in my movement, and I still was, except for the occasional attempt at grabbing a fellow passerby’s wallet.

No worries there. Let him notice. That’s exactly how I wanted it to be.

He was an important man.

But more so than anyone, he was all the more important to me.

I looked in and around for some means of transport. But then it struck me. I’m not all that slow by myself. I continued my pursuit. The traffic ahead did slow him a bit, but never did he look back again.

I even came side to side with his car at one point, only to be overtaken a couple of seconds later. But what surprised me was that he didn’t even look at me this time, leave alone be surprised, when I was so near to him.

He wanted to play a game. And I let him do just that for I knew who the winner would be.

*************************************************************************************

Back to two weeks before…

I drove. And I drove quicker than ever before.

I had my spectacles on now. I was an effect with a cause.

He was silenced. I didn’t hear much from him the entire drive – it was like I had tied him up inside the car. I pulled up the car by the car park. It had been a long drive. I’d driven the entire day. This had to be done. This was his secret workspace, outside the city. He tried fighting me relentlessly, but I never gave in.

I slapped him back to shut him up.

I covered his mouth to shut him up.

This had to be done.

I wanted the world to know it.

I walked up to his workstation in the deserted house. Nobody was present, nobody human, at least. But I sensed presence of someone, something…

This was why this was so important.

I dragged him along with me too all the way. I felt forces tugging at me and pushing me in different directions. Their intentions weren’t friendly by any stretch. They were nasty.

I opened up the laptop. Now I knew the passcode. I’m always by his side all the time. And I think he’s started realizing that of late. But it’d been too late.

I entered the passcode and hit enter. I went into his portal, typed out and hit send.

And that was it. After that, the forces all converged unto me and he awoke from his slumber. It was his turn to slap me. And slap he did with all the force he could muster. The forces surrounding also followed suit.

My spectacles fell down. He wore the spectacles now.

*************************************************************************************

 Back to today…

I turned left, I turned right,

I turned towards everywhere with all my might.

For a single store in this very city,

Which alas I could never find, a pity.

I trudged on, not giving up hope each day,

I knew there will be another way.

I longed for the world to know it. I longed for my revealing of the revelation to change the way the world thinks about this planet. But I needed my spectacles. I needed it badly. There was no need for a store here anymore. The store has been here all along, it was just that I never realized it. I remembered my deeds of two weeks ago. It was to be triggered two weeks from then, which was today. I just wanted to make sure all was set. I had to go back to his workspace.

He was leaving for work.

I had to take over him.

He was my pair of spectacles.

His car was my spectacle store I search for.

I was in his mind all along. I always have been. He seldom realizes he is but a being of two.

Each coin has two sides.

Each mind has two personalities.

We are opposite of one another.

He has a name while I don’t. He has an identity while I don’t. He is permanent while I’m temporary.

We keep fighting every day for control. There was no actual person in the rear seat of the car. It was but me, his other personality, his other voice, back at the recess of his mind, while he was the driver.

You see, we both exchange the roles of driver and passenger. But with a lot of struggle. We both want to be the driver, to be in charge of where we’re heading – to be in charge of his – of our prized job.

I asked him to drive a bit faster. Not that that mattered because of the traffic pile-up ahead of us. He was a reticent person, not giving much reaction to my words, but he did absorb all that I was saying.

I was basically cursing him. Ruthlessly.

Sometimes he fought back. Sometimes he didn’t. What about today? He did both.

He fought back at me, but I nullified him rendering him to do so no more.

I drove. And I drove quicker than ever before.

I had my spectacles on now. I was an effect with a cause.

I had triggered the message to be sent out today, two weeks from my first visit to this outside-the-city workspace of his. The message that will possibly rock the planet – both literally and figuratively.

But why today? Because today’s his birthday, that’s why. I like dramatic endings, or in this case, it could be dramatic beginnings too.

Because the end of one era is the beginning of another.

I had moved swiftly behind the car. I had moved swiftly along with the car. I was at the backmost recess of his mind. It was like I was at the backseat of his car.

His car was the spectacle store. He was the pair of spectacles I yearned for.

I slapped him, took over his spectacles, and took over his personality.

The road was all mine. I drove quicker than ever before. I reached the workspace earlier than ever before.

But something happened.

He was at the backseat of the car now, at the backseat of his mind – our mind rather. He was trying to come forward. He was trying to slap me out.

I resisted. I resisted. And I resisted a bit more.

Holding onto the steering wheel, and to my mind – his mind – our mind – I veered in front of the workspace. I had reached. Now, I just had to be there to watch the message being sent – to watch it all unfold. It was to be any minute now. I checked my watch – under a minute.

And it started. The forces were getting to me. There were forces around the house. Forces that I could not fathom whence they came. They started converging into me.

Slap.

He had slapped me. He took over the spectacles. He took over me, over us. I was thrown backward into the recess of his mind – my mind – our mind – they are all the same.

He had turned left, he had turned right,

He had turned towards everywhere with all his might.

For a single store in this very city,

Which alas he could never find, a pity.

He had trudged on, not giving up hope each day,

He knew there will be another way, and that was today.

I was a mere observer now. But that didn’t matter. The damage was done, I was just here to witness the information being sent to the entire planet – I like to be dramatic.

What was the message about?

His workspace was a wormhole. His workspace was a shortcut in space and time. His workspace was a haven for radio signals from a far, far planet, which was why I felt alien forces, alien signals converging upon me. (What he did with the radio signals, is what I wanted to check today, alas, he is in control now. But it won’t be for long.)

He has been silent all along.

But one portion of his mind didn’t like that. Thence I was born.

I was a mere observer at the recess of his mind now. But like I said, it didn’t matter. I smiled. Yes, I can smile, it’s just that nobody can observe it – neither can I. I am a being without a body, I am just a temporary being, but a permanent resident henceforth of his mind, who has an idea of time and possesses a unique watch of his own, knowing when to take over.

He was a scientist. I was his playful side.

Enough of me. I looked on now.

I started the countdown under my breath. The countdown which would create ripples on the planet wherever the message is going to be broadcasted. Let the truth be told…

Ten, nine, eight, seven, six, five, four, three, two, and one…

 The wormhole leads to planet earth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

