Personal Horror Experience – Was I Possessed?

The best feeling in the world is to wake up early and find out that you have five minutes extra to sleep. The worst feeling in the world, is to wake up and feel someone sleeping next to you – when there was nobody before. 
This post is about a personal experience.
Any resemblance to any other event whatsoever, is purely coincidental.
I will start away with the title of this post.
‘Sleep Paralysis Or Being Possessed?’ is the title. And there is good reason for selecting that. I was unsure what I was experiencing until I actually did some research online and not brushing it aside as just ‘another dream’.
I will structure this piece in the following way:
1. Personal Experience – 1
2. Personal Experience – 2
3. Inference
Note: Points 1 & 2 mentioned above will be narrated in the first person, as to how I experienced it. It is by no means exaggerated – I will describe all the events just as they had happened.
Let me get started with point 1.

1. PERSONAL EXPERIENCE – 1

I will break this down further into the following points.
(A) Quick Facts
(B) What Happened (which will include the physical and mental experiences)
(A) Quick Facts:
Place: My normal room
Time: 4am – 5am
Where: My usual bed
(B) What Happened:
So like I mentioned above, it was a normal dawn, and I was in my usual normal room, and I was doing the usual, normal thing every human does at 4am in the morning – sleeping.
Now, of course I do not possess a mind clock or anything similar of that sort; that I had checked the time post this experience was how I got to know that this could have happened around the time frame I specified above.
It was a normal night for me – one in which sleep welcomes me into its tempting clutches at roughly 1am at night.
Certainly, I am more the night owl than the morning lark.

If there is one thing I hate in this world more than anything else, getting up early in the morning would be a strong contender for that spot.

It was purely dreamless sleep. All I remembered – or didn’t remember, rather, was when I went to sleep in actuality. I had just slowly passed out – fatigue took the better of me.
Then, after some time, I realised I had woken up. Yes, I felt I was awake. I was not sleeping anymore. Wide, wide awake, I was.
I was just laying there on my bed, on my right side, with blanket and all.
Except, I was just laying there. Yes – I could not move.
After five seconds of ‘realising I was awake’, the following happened, in that particular chronological order:
a) I gained cognisance of the fact that, I was breathing heavily. In fact, I was breathing like I had just run a 100 metre sprint. 
b) I gained cognisance of the fact that, my heart was beating almost twice as fast. In fact, my heart was beating like I had just run a 100 metre sprint. 
c) I gained cognisance of the fact that, I could not move. Yes, I had lost my ability of movement. I wanted to move, but I couldn’t. I wasn’t able to. I wanted to scream, but I couldn’t. I wasn’t able to. In fact, I wasn’t able to hear anything either. My senses of movement/touch and hearing weren’t with me anymore. 
So there I was lying on right side, blanket upon me.
Slowly, my eyes laid sight on the curtain that is beside me. Now, just to the right side of my bed is a window which is covered with red curtains.
Combined with the points a, b, c and d specified above, the below points were also experienced by me:
e) As soon as I caught sight of the curtain, my heart beat rose higher. It did not seem like a curtain anymore. It looked like a demon with wings. The curtain was folded into an hour-glass shape. So it appeared to me like a demon that had just spread its wings. It felt too real and horrific. 
f) At this point, I tried again to move and to yell. I was frightened out of my wits. But, here is the catch – I felt I shouldn’t turn to me left side at all. I thought I felt some presence to my left side – just seated there and controlling me and making me undergo all the points a, b, c, d and e. 
So there I was. A demonic figure in front of me, and what I felt like a paranormal entity behind me. A very good morning, wasn’t it?
Luckily, it all passed. All the five points above vanished on their own, just as soon as they had come.
Within moments, I was back to myself and I turned to my left side to see absolutely nothing there. I moved to unfold the curtain and it seemed just like a normal night. I was able to hear the fan moving as usual.
Strange, right? Well, personal experience – 2 is scarier for the fact that this same experience was followed again. But, only this time, it was preceded by a nightmare. 

2. PERSONAL EXPERIENCE – 2

 

I will break this down further into the following points.
(A) Quick Facts
(B) What Happened (which will include the physical and mental experiences)
(A) Quick Facts:
Place: A different room, in a different home
Time: 4am – 5am
Where: My usual bed in the different home
(B) What Happened:
So everything is similar to the first experience, except for the fact that, this was in a different room, in a different home.
I slept around the same time at the night… around 1am as is my usual time.
Exhaustion and a full stomach after a buffet dinner at a good restaurant caught the better of me and I dozed into the dream state.
I walk into my school ground. The vast expanse of it, that is vast expanse of brown sand, seems overwhelming due to the fact that, I am the only one there. I am all alone on what seemed like early morning (I am not able to recollect the time of the day exactly). 
I am just all alone, changing my shirt after a game of… I don’t remember this either… 
Then, suddenly a child appears from nowhere. He is facing away from me. His head is bent over, he was engaged with something in his hands, or so it seemed like. 
He says softly..
“Don’t. Go, it’s haunted…”
I didn’t get him the first time. I asked him if he spoke to me. He just replied the same, with a slightly higher tone. 
“Don’t. Go, it’s haunted…”
“What do you mean? What’s haunted?” I ask further. 
“DON’T. GO, IT’S HAUNTED!”
And that’s it. The dream/nightmare ends.
I am back to my room.
I am laying on my right side. Everything else follows in the same way as in experience -1.
After five seconds of ‘realising I was awake’, the following happened, in that particular chronological order:
a) I gained cognisance of the fact that, I was breathing heavily. In fact, I was breathing like I had just run a 100 metre sprint. 
b) I gained cognisance of the fact that, my heart was beating almost twice as fast. In fact, my heart was beating like I had just run a 100 metre sprint. 
c) I gained cognisance of the fact that, I could not move. Yes, I had lost my ability of movement. I wanted to move, but I couldn’t. I wasn’t able to. I wanted to scream, but I couldn’t. I wasn’t able to. In fact, I wasn’t able to hear anything either. My senses of movement/touch and hearing weren’t with me anymore. 
So there I was lying on right side, blanket upon me.
Slowly, my eyes laid sight on the curtain that is beside me. Now, just to the right side of my bed is a window which is covered with red curtains.
Combined with the points a, b, c and d specified above, the below points were also experienced by me:
e) As soon as I caught sight of the curtain, my heart beat rose higher. It did not seem like a curtain anymore. It looked like a demon with wings. The curtain was folded into an hour-glass shape. So it appeared to me like a demon that had just spread its wings. It felt too real and horrific. 
f) At this point, I tried again to move and to yell. I was frightened out of my wits. But, here is the catch – I felt I shouldn’t turn to me left side at all. I thought I felt some presence to my left side – just seated there and controlling me and making me undergo all the points a, b, c, d and e. 
So there I was. A demonic figure in front of me, and what I felt like a paranormal entity behind me. A very good morning, wasn’t it?
Luckily, it all passed. All the five points above vanished on their own, just as soon as they had come.
Within moments, I was back to myself and I turned to my left side to see absolutely nothing there. I moved to unfold the curtain and it seemed just like a normal night. I was able to hear the fan moving as usual.
Now what was it that I had experienced? Was I possessed by a spirit? Or is there a scientific explanation for this?
I will explain this in my inference below.

3. INFERENCE

After thorough searches on Google, Quora and other websites, I came to the conclusions below that what I experienced was ‘Sleep Paralysis’.

Sleep Paralysis is defined as a state wherein the person is aware that they are awake but are unable to move, speak, etc for a brief while.

Many people would encounter this at some point in their lives. Wikipedia says:

“Sleep paralysis is a phenomenon in which an individual, either during falling asleep or awakening, briefly experiences an inability to move, speak, or react.

It is sometimes accompanied by frightening hallucinations to which one is unable to react due to paralysis and perceived physical experiences, such as a strong current running through the upper body. Sleep paralysis poses no immediate risk to those who experience it, and it lasts from several seconds to several minutes.”

What causes sleep paralysis?

Stress, lack of sleep, improper sleep patterns/habits and fatigue. Any one of these could cause sleep paralysis in an individual.

What is the root cause of sleep paralysis?

Dreams occur during the REM phase of sleep. This is where there is rapid eye movement and you start dreaming. During this time, the muscles almost get switched off, meaning you don’t actually walk your dream, right? You just sleep and experience it all like watching a movie. This is due to the fact that during REM sleep, your muscles temporarily get turned off.

Now, what if you end up waking before your REM phase is over?

It would mean that you become awake, but temporarily do not possess the ability of movement.

It subsides on its own as the REM phase goes away and you are back to full consciousness.

Hence concluding from the points above (I did have all of stress, lack of sleep, irregular sleep patterns and fatigue) and from the root cause of it, it is safe to say I wasn’t possessed, but merely experienced a frightening case of sleep paralysis.

In case you are interested to read another sleep phenomenon I experienced recently, of lucid dreaming, you can read it here:

Dream World Experience – Was I Lucid Dreaming?

Ciao!

 

 

 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Abhishek Vishwakarma April 14, 2017 — 3:41 pm

    I agree that the above experience by the author might have been very dreadful because a similar kind of experience happened to me once. At that time I didn’t knew about ‘sleep paralysis’,I truly believed that I had been possessed by some evil spirit. After regular experiences of this kind a sleep paranoia sets in,which happened to me after watching ‘The Ring’.

    • Yes, it is very terrifying. I haven’t watched ‘The Ring’ yet, I will look it up since it seems on the same lines. The scientific explanation for this phenomenon is quite convincing. But one cannot discount the fact that despite knowing it is harmless, it will still freak out the person whenever it recurs.

Leave a Reply

