HOW I WENT FROM 94 TO 74

I am writing this post to share my story of weight loss.

There have been many people asking me how I lost so much weight. Please do have a read.

I am 5 feet 10 inches tall at 178 cm. I am not tall, short or even average. I am pretty much above average height for an Indian.

But I was above average weight for anyone my height. In fact, I was obese for my height.

I was the fattest in my class. Remember that guy who used to be eternally fat in your class all the time? Remember that neighbour who struggled to lose weight all the time? Yes, I was that kind of guy. I was just tired of being labeled fat.

I was tired of not fitting into jeans, I had to always wear 38 inch waist jeans – which meant the length also increased – it had to be altered soon as I bought it. I didn’t lose weight to impress any girl (no, seriously), although that is an understandable reason to lose weight.

I never had any need for a belt, my waistline used to be so large that it became a natural belt soon as it latched on to the jeans.

My Mom used to joke – ‘How many stomachs do you have?’

I used to feel shy to tuck in my shirt, I used to buy long shirts that could cover my big fat stomach and behind.

I was fat all my life. One day, I just thought enough is enough.

Let us lose some weight and be fit and look good!

I was 94 kg, my BMI bordered on the obese scale.

I lost 20 kg in 4 months – I came down to 74 – in a weight loss ritual.

To be frank, it is both the easiest and hardest thing to do.

Why easiest?

If a routine is followed, results will come.

Why hardest?

Following a routine is boring and excruciating.

So I am writing this post explaining how I went about losing weight.

It had 4 aspects, in decreasing order of importance:

Workout > Diet > Workout Partner > Music > Quotes

4 months – 20 kg loss @ > 1 kg/week

Workout wise:

I joined a gym. I didn’t hire any personal trainer. 500 bucks/month – 2,000 bucks over 4 months – one of the best investments I ever made in life.

I worked out in the evenings after college – from 5pm to 7pm.

I am inherently quite lazy, I can’t get up early in the mornings, and hence the evening schedule suited me.

10 minutes – stretching and warmup

20 minutes – treadmill

20 minutes – cross trainer

20 minutes – cycling

30 minutes – body weight exercises of pushups, pullups and a few dumbbell lifts for biceps and triceps here and there to make sure I don’t lose all my muscle along with weight

10+20+20+20+30+30 (breaks in between) = 2 hours 10 minutes of working out

This routine was followed 6 days/week. One day off for myself.

Yep, a very intense schedule, but it paid huge returns. I lost 1 kg each week or 142 grams every day.

Diet wise:

Breakfast and lunch without anything oily and strictly no rice.

Nothing solid eaten for dinner (I had only milk of 500 ml after workout) – not recommended at all, unhealthy, but still that is how I did it because I wanted to lose weight badly.

And that was it. I did have my cheat days – I ate whatever I liked to satisfy my temptation, be it pizzas, butter naans, cheese burgers or lasagnas every weekend. But it would only be for that one meal on one day.

Workout Partner:

This is a big plus.

I was lucky to have a roommate who was also passionate about fitness.

We used to work out together daily, he used to push me and get me off of my bed to the gym with him.

Music:

I listened to pumping music every day, especially before hitting the gym, for motivation.

Slow, romantic melodies were a strict no before workout.

My gym also had a great collection of pumping music – both English and Hindi – so it helped in the gym as well.

Music does play a big role in working out. It is like this voice at the back of your head that tells you to keep pushing when you think you can’t!

Quotes:

This might seem silly, but it’s not.

Motivational quotes from Google really push you when you feel like quitting.

Here are some of my favourites.

‘When you feel like quitting, think why you started out in the first place!’

‘Success is the sum of small efforts, repeated day in and day out.’

‘Dear stomach, you are bored, not hungry. So shut up!’

‘I may not be there yet, but I am closer than I was yesterday.’

‘Six months from now, you will thank yourself.’

Then:

94 kg – 38 inch waist (oversized jeans and shirts)

Now:

74 kg – 34 inch waist – I wear slim fit jeans and tight t shirts tucked in

Summing up, this worked out for me. Some of the points might be extreme and not recommended, but I just did it because I had nothing else that I wanted at that point. I even flunked a couple of tests in college, but didn’t miss the gym time (my parents don’t know this – ah well, now they do).

Weight loss was more of a mental challenge than a physical one. Had to keep pushing till I reached, many sacrifices were made, but they were more than worth it, transforming me in many ways.

You know what, I have spent pretty much time away from fitness now – a couple of months now.

Oh no, looks like I have put on a little weight again!

Now, I am off to working out again and reducing the mini flab accumulated!

Last but not the least: ‘The journey is more important than the destination’.

Thanks & Good luck! 🙂 

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Nice one ! never knew you had to work so hard , i always thought u were fit from the beginning .

Leave a Reply

